Environmental Campaign Groups

If you would like to find out about local, practical improvements to the environment, take a look at www.lancswt.org.uk
Friends of the Earth - www.foe.co.uk
Greenpeace - www.greenpeace.org.uk
Groundwork - www.groundwork.org.uk - "cleaner, safer, greener communities" - useful for jobs and volunteering
World Conservation Union - www.iucn.org. This links to the IUCN Red List at www.redlist.org
British Trust for Conservation Volunteers - www.btcv.org - good for practical conservation work and jobs.
Common Ground - www.commonground.org.uk - local distinctiveness, parish maps, Apple Day, fields, art...
STOP HS2 - The national campaign against High Speed Rail 2 - www.stophs2.org

Development

Global Justice Now - www.globaljustice.org.uk.
Oxfam - www.oxfam.org.uk
Fair Trade Foundation - www.fairtrade.org.uk
CAFOD: Catholic international development charity - www.cafod.org.uk

Education

University of Exeter "Future Learn" course: Climate Change solutions - www.futurelearn.com.

Transport

Sustrans - national cyclepath network - www.sustrans.org.uk
CTC - Cyclists Touring Club - www.ctc.org.uk
Transport 2000 - environmental transport campaigns - www.transport2000.org.uk
Campaign For Better Transport - www.bettertransport.org.uk

Waste and Recycling

Waste Watch - www.wastewatch.org.uk
27 million tons of rubbish are produced annually in Britain..that is one tonne per family. Up to 80 per cent of our rubbish could be recycled. To find out how you can do more to help reduce waste, contact recycle-more.co.uk..
Centre for Alternative Technology - www.cat.org.uk - lots of useful links.

Food, Countryside, Wildlife

DEFRA - UK Government - www.defra.gov.uk
HDRA - organic gardening - www.hdra.org.uk
Permaculture Association - www.permaculture.org.uk
Morecambe Bay Partnership - www.morecambebay.org.uk.
Ramblers Association - www.ramblers.org.uk

Energy

RSPB Renewables campaign - get involved here.
RenewableUK - the voice of marine and wind energy.
Centre for Alternative Technology - www.cat.org.uk - lots of useful links.
CORE - Cumbrians Opposed to a Radioactive Environment - www.corecumbria.co.uk